PM Names 21 Largest Islands In Andaman And Nicobar After 21 Indian Heroes


New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi named. The 21 largest unnamed islands of the Andaman. And Nicobar Islands after the Param Vir Chakra awardees at a ceremony on Monday. To mark Parakram Divas.

Prime Minister Modi also unveiled the model of the National Memorial dedicated. To Netaji on the Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island, formerly known as Ross Island. Home Minister Amit Shah was also present at the Andaman and Nicobar Islands event.

The largest unnamed island was named. After the first Param Vir Chakra awardee, Major Somnath Sharma. Who lost his life on November 3, 1947. While fighting Pakistani infiltrators near Srinagar Airport.

“These islands are named after 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees, namely Major Somnath Sharma; Subedar. And Hon. Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, MM; 2nd Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane; Nayak Jadunath Singh. Company Havildar Major Piru Singh; Capt.

SQMH Abdul Hamid; Lt Col Ardeshir Burjorji Tarapore. Lance Naik Albert Ekka. Major Hoshiar Singh; 2nd Lt Arun Kshetrapal; Officer Nirmaljit. Singh Sekhan; Major Ramaswami Parameswaran. Naib Subedar Bana Singh; Captain Vikram Batra; Lt.

Manoj Kumar Pandey; Subedar Major (then Rifleman) Sanjay Kumar. And Subedar Major retired (Hon. Captain) Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav. The Prime Minister added.

The government declared 23 January as Parakram Day in 2021 to commemorat. Tthe birth anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose.

Keeping in mind the historical significance of the Andaman and Nicobar. And paying homage to Netaji’s memory, the Prime Minister renamed the Ross Islands.

As Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island during his visit to the island in 2018. There was also Blue Island and Havelock Island. The name was changed to Shahid Dwip and Swaraj Dwip.

“Prime Minister has always given top priority to giving due respect to the real life heroes of the country. Keeping this spirit.  largest unnamed islands in the archipelago as 21 Param. Vir Chakra awardees,” the PMO statement read.

This step will be an eternal tribute to our heroes. Many of whom have made the ultimate sacrifice to protect the sovereignty and integrity of the nation.

MPs, former MP. And other dignitaries will lay wreaths. At the portrait of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose at the Central Hall. Next birthday in Parliament House.

Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose’s portrait was unveiled by the then President of India, N Sanjeev Reddy. In the Central Hall of Parliament House on 23 January 1978.

According to the Lok Sabha Secretariat. It was recognized that floral tributes can serve.As Islands an effective medium in spreading greater knowledge. And awareness about the lives and contributions of these great. National icons among the youth of the country.

Accordingly the Parliamentary Research and Training Institute for Democracy (PRIDE), Lok Sabha Secretariat. Has launched a program titled ‘Know Your Leaders’.

Born on January 23, 1897, Netaji played an important role in India’s freedom movement.

Subhash Chandra Bose established Azad Hind Fauj. In 2017 confirmed in an RTI (Right to Information) that he had died in the incident.

Last year, on the occasion of Netaji’s 125th birth anniversary, the prime minister unveiled. A hologram statue of the freedom fighter at Delhi’s India Gate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *